Book Review: Strange the Dreamer

20170513_142537SYNOPSISThe dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

review

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor surprised me to its’ final pages.

I loved falling back into Laini Taylor’s writing style after finishing her Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy a few years ago. Her imagination amazes me because the world of Weep is simply awe-mazing.

The dual POV brought more life to the book than I would have thought possible. Lazlo’s storytelling brought me into the story, but Sarai made me fall in love. Her history and different thoughts throughout the book just made sense when paired with Lazlo. Obviously, I could tell as soon as she was introduced where the romance would be: Lazarai or Sazlo? Only time will tell.

The plot seemed slow in the beginning, but it actually really intrigued me. I loved Lazlo’s creativity, and I really connected with his sense of story-telling and imagination since I was literally him growing up. The jumps in time helped speed up the story without leaving anything confusing. While not a lot of action occurred until the final few pages, the story never dulled. The history and time spent in dreams made the book feel like Lazlo and Sarai knew each other longer than just the few days they actually did know each other. This is why I was okay with their instant fascination with one another (that and Lazlo is adorable) which quickly proceeded to a romance. But, once again, the time spent in the dream world seemed longer than it actually was creating a longer sense of time.

Overall, I would say this book is right up there with the DoSAB series by Laini Taylor, which really captured my early fantasy-loving heart when I was younger. The ending definitely caught me off-guard, and I may have screamed and cried and had a book hangover for quite some time. But I would still recommend this book to every person I know. Including you.

Have you read other Laini Taylor books? What do you think their ship name should be? What did you think about Strange the Dreamer? Let me know in the comments!

 

Much love, XOXO,

~A Writer Named Charley~

SocialMedia

a-classic-a-month

 

One thought on “Book Review: Strange the Dreamer

Leave a Reply

