Stories to Tide You Over Until the Beauty and the Beast Premiere

Screenshot_2017-03-13-20-43-12-1

Hello!

I am SO excited for the premiere of Beauty and the Beast on Friday. I’ve already warned all my friends, classmates, teachers, parents, and anyone I’ve ever come into contact with about this emotionally unstable week waiting for the movie to come out and the day or two after I see it. Okay… let’s be real. For the rest of the year.

I already picked up the soundtrack from Barnes and Noble on Saturday to prepare me and get some of my emotions out before crying in a movie theatre. Instead, I cried in my car at the overture. (I have no chill when it comes to Beauty and the Beast.) Anyways… the real reason you came to this post is to find some interesting stories to read while waiting the infinite few days before the movie comes out in the United States. (If it’s already out in your country than you stink and why haven’t you sent it to me illegally yet???)

Mainly, this will be a list of Beauty and the Beast retellings I have read (and one I may have written) that made me cry/have emotions.

 

  1. Beauty and the Beast by Jeanne-Marie LePrince de Beaumont

Nothing beats reading the original story everything is based off of before going to see the live-action movie. While there is some conflicting historical records of if this is the actual original story of Beauty and the Beast or if other cultures had stories before Beaumont wrote hers. Personally, the story is fabulous either way and will get your heart strings tugged and ripped apart perfectly.

1. Of Beast and Beauty by Stacey Jay

16113606

I read this book a while ago, but the twist on the original story really brought to light the idea that beauty is found within on both sides of the romance. The ending definitely made me bawl my eyes out. (Be right back.) Definitely a fantastic read with creating an entirely new world/society and folk tales.

2. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

15839984

Can we just focus on this gorgeous cover for a second? Okay… now time to get to the romance BECAUSE IT’S LITERALLY PERFECT IN THIS STORY AND IT DEFINITELY IS ONE OF MY FAVE ALL TIME BEAUTY AND THE BEAST RETELLINGS. Phew… okay… I’m chill now. But seriously how can you call yourself a Beauty and the Beast fan if you HAVEN’T read this retelling yet? Go and buy/pick it up asap.

3. Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George

1210754

This retelling is more of a folktale version retelling of not only Beauty and the Beast, but also another Nordic folktale VERY similar to the original that gets conflict for the original version by Beaumont as to which one came first. Either way I love the twists and turns and the fact that the main character doesn’t actually have a name because it gives my writer’s heart comfort in knowing I may not have to give my characters names if I have a good enough reason not to which this book totally does.

4. Beastly by Alex Flinn

544891

This is not only an AMAZING book, but also an okay movie. Personally, the movie kind of stinks compared to this book. If you have an hour or two to kill, pick up this book and read it. The story brings the magic into a contemporary New York City retelling of Beauty and the Beast which I loved.

5. Mooi by Emilee Wise

Mooi: A Beauty and the Beast Retelling

Moving away from the traditional book style, I decided to include a few Wattpad stories as well that are quick to read. I just finished reading this story today (and I started it today as well), and I can’t stop thinking about it. Seriously, this retelling is nothing I have ever seen before. Incredibly well-written, beautiful gender-swap, and the romance makes me swoon. Despite the quickness of the story, the characters develop and the world draws you in. A MUST-READ!

6. The Rose Meadow by Charley Hrobsky

The Rose Meadow: A Beauty and the Beast Retelling

If you haven’t read my Beauty and the Beast retelling yet, then I am a little offended. But that’s alright because now you can experience it during the BEST WEEK EVER! I’m really bad at promo’ing my own stories, but here I am attempting to persuade you to read it. (Yes, promo’ing is definitely a word despite the red squiggly line I see under it right now. It’s a word if I say it’s a word.) Originally, I wrote this for a class where we had a page limit which is why the story is so short. I’m still debating on whether to expand it or not. Let me know what you think of it!

 

Here are just a few stories for everyone to read that I definitely recommend during this week. What are some Beauty and the Beast retellings you love that I don’t have above? Have you read any of the stories above? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments below!

 

Much love, XOXO,

~A Writer Named Charley~

SocialMedia

a-classic-a-month

2 thoughts on “Stories to Tide You Over Until the Beauty and the Beast Premiere

    • I would definitely recommend starting with the Wattpad stories if you are wanting to see the movie (if it’s not already out in your country) to get you prepared for the bigger heartbreaks. 🙂 Glad I could recommend some books.

      Like

Leave a Reply

