Review: The Little Prince

157993Synopsis:

With a timeless charm it tells the story of a little boy who leaves the safety of his own tiny planet to travel the universe, learning the vagaries of adult behavior through a series of extraordinary encounters. His personal odyssey culminates in a voyage to Earth and further adventures.

Book Depository // Goodreads //

 

Movie Trailer:

review

The Book:

I read this book for my “A Classic A Month” challenge for January. The Little Prince caught my eyes a year or so when I saw one of my friends reading it and then Netflix produced a movie version. While intrigued, I still did not pick it up until a week ago. This book changed my life.

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry created a brilliant story which makes me really want to learn French just to read this book. I fell in love with the character of the aviator and the little prince within instants. The aviator reminded me of myself (sorry to say, at first) which drew me in. But the little prince reminded me of an innocence I see in the children at work.

The illustrations added an element of childhood to further imprint the imagery of the story into my memory. I loved the simplicity of them which alluded to the childhood of the little prince along with the childhood of the aviator which he lost due to the grown ups.

Overall, the book tells readers to be free and not always worry about the big numbers and stress-creators in life. Sometimes, you just need to let go. I definitely read this book at the perfect time to remind myself of being childlike sometimes.

The Movie:

Netflix brilliantly told the story of The Little Prince by extending the story to modern times and applying it to a child’s life along with an adult’s life.

The story from the book is told through the movie’s story, if that makes sense. The movie opens up with a girl and her mother in a drab, gray world, preparing for an interview to an academy. When the girl doesn’t get in, her mother moves them into the academy’s district and plans out the rest of the summer minute-by-minute to prepare the girl for the academy. Pretty quickly (and hilariously) the girl’s summer gets turned upside down (for the better) when the aviator’s airplane propeller flies through the girl’s house’s wall.

Slowly and subtly color creeps into the little girl’s life as the aviator tells more of the little prince’s story to her through drawings and pages (taken from the book). More importantly, however, the inter-generational relationship between the old aviator and the little girl connected with me to remind me of my relationship with my grandfather. I fell in love with the relationship as more color grew into the little girl’s life through the aviator.

Not going to lie to you: I bawled my eyes out about halfway through the movie at the end of the little prince’s story (from the book). Then, I cried for the rest of the movie as well. Due to the Netflix movie using the book’s story as a weaver for the little girl’s story, I love both the movie and the book equally. The differences between the two allow for no hate because of their beautiful craftsmanship.

 

Have you read or seen the book/movie? Which one do you like better? Which classic should I read next from my list? Tell me in the comments below!

 

Much love, XOXO,

~A Writer Named Charley~

SocialMedia

a-classic-a-month

6 thoughts on “Review: The Little Prince

  1. Oh oh I’ve wanted to read this for a while!! This is actually the best review of ever and I’m going to go reserve it at my library. :’) I’m all for beautiful children’s classics, eeeep.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: A Classic A Month: Feb. Book Choice | A Writer Named Charley

  3. Pingback: Feb. 16, 2017 //Forget Me Not// | A Writer Named Charley

Leave a Reply

