2016 End of Year Book Survey (With a Writer Twist)

This is the first year I will be participating in Perpetual Page Turner‘s “End of Year Book Survey” which numerous book bloggers/vloggers/bookstagrammers (aka the entire book community) participate in each year. Believe it or not, this is the SEVENTH year of the book survey. Let’s take a shot at it!

reading-stats-2016-1024x278-768x209Number of Books You Read:

I finished 40, but I’m working on 41 before 2017!

Number of Re-reads:

I actually have this thing with books where I don’t re-read them. The only book I have EVER read again was Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle, which I did simply because I needed to review it for Satellite.

Genre You Read the Most From:

GenreAvg.png

 

Can you believe this? I totally can. By the way, my “Classic” section basically means anything they made me read in English class which can range from Crime and Punishment to A Doll’s House by Ibsen to Ernest Hemingway’s Old Man and the SeaI have been working on expanding my genres through science fiction (Across the Universe) and fantasy (which I have been craving lately) books. Check out my 2016 Reading Challenge results on Goodreads for the specific books.

Star Rating Averages:

Untitled design.png

I guess I’m a softy when it comes to rating books, especially since I rate them during my “After Reading High” of thinking: Oh my goodness, that ending! Those deaths! The feels!!!

best-ya-books-2014-900x244

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

6672246642982351782876348515507958

I cannot choose simply one favorite book from this year with how many amazing ones I read. Anthem actually surprised me since I read it as an assignment for AP United States Government and Politics, but the dystopian world drew me in and the wordplay. Me Before You  did not surprise me due to all the raving reviews I had heard/read prior to reading it. Also, I read it in one sitting the night before I went to see the movie. KOA drew me in with the point-of-view storytelling and the flipping from past to present times. Across the Universe I read this past summer on my third try of attempting to read it, and I fell in love. I have no idea why I set it down in the past, but I was stupid to do so. The Sun Is Also A Star I read as an ARC, so I had to wait to fangirl with others about how amazingly the story is told.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson.

The ending really got me because overall the storyline felt amazing until the ending. An awesome build-up to the climax until at the end of the book everything is anti-climatic.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

Anthem by Ayn Rand. (See #1)

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Hello? by Liza Wiemer.

Liza is a local author to Wisconsin which grabbed my attention initially when I won a giveaway she hosted. I fell in love with the storytelling and formatting of the book set in Door County, WI, a local vacation spot for my family. If you have not read this book, go to the book store and pick it up. The story really is a hidden treasure not many know about.

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Series starter: I started too many great series to pick just one, so here’s the list of series starters:

  1. Alice in Zombieland
  2. Across the Universe
  3. A Book of Spirits and Thieves
  4. A Shadow Bright and Burning
  5. All Fall Down

SequelDay 21 of The 100 series by Kass Morgan. I am super far behind in this series because I got caught up with the show.

Series Ender: I finished The Selection series with The Crown by Kiera Cass. (Insert tear stains here.) The Crown may also be the ONLY series ender I read this year. I have a problem.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Nicola Yoon.

I am so pumped to read Everything, Everything before it becomes a movie!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Across the Universe by Beth Revis.

I generally shy away from science fiction novels, but I loved this series because it felt natural to read in that world.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, but basically all of my 5-star read books were the best.

Why must I choose between all my babies??

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

See, I have this thing where I don’t re-read books because I remember them too well.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

Across the Universe by Beth RevisA Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess

These two beautiful babies are the best.

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

Raskolnikov from Crime and Punishment. 

I know this is the first time I have mentioned this character or book ever on this blog (except that one time above I was giving examples of classics), but hang with me. I may not have given this book an above-average rating, BUT Raskolnikov is memorable mainly due to him being crazy and murdering people.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Kids of Appetite or The Sun Is Also A Star.

Both books have similar styles of formatting the books, but yet they are completely unique. I loved both of them with the multiple point-of-views and time changes throughout the novel.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

And the award goes to… Kids of Appetite or The Sun Is Also A Star again. Seriously, people, read them.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

Alice in Zombieland.

I have been eyeing up this book since forever, and I finally grabbed it off the library shelf this past year. I cannot believe it took me this long to finally read it.

15.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Shortest: Rocking Horse Winner (22 pgs) by D. H. Lawrence

Longest: Crime and Punishment (545 pgs) by Fyodor Dostoevsky

16. Book That Shocked You The Most

Across the Universe by Beth Revis. Too many spoilers to explain.

17. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

(OTP = one true pairing if you aren’t familiar)

Frys. For those of you not familiar with my self-made ship name, FRYS is the combination of Farrell Grayson and Crystal (Crys) Hatcher from A Book of Spirits and Thieves.

18. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.

My friend (#booksisters4ever) literally shoved this book into my hands and said, “YOU WILL READ THIS BEFORE WE SEE THE MOVIE!”

19. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

Too. Many. To. Count.

20. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Across the Universe by Beth Revis.

That spaceship is amazing, people. I feel like I could give someone directions, and I’ve never even been on it.

21. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

The Romantics by Leah Konen.

I absolutely adored this book because it tells the story of a romance from Love’s perspective. How is that NOT fun?

22. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

Me Before You, Of Mice and Men, Dear John, The Sun Is Also A Star,  and Across the Universe.

I cry a lot from books.

23. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

All of them.

book-blogging-900x244

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

Cait on PaperFury by far rates #1 on my list (and plenty of others’ lists) for many reasons. Of course, other people rank on my list, but Cait makes first place.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories because I finally got to sit back and write a review for the first time in a long time for simple pleasure.

3. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I loved participating in the first annual #BFestBuzz event at Barnes and Noble. The atmosphere at Barnes and Noble always makes me comfortable and excited to meet fellow book nerds.

4. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

Hosting my first Twitter chat with Iridescence by far. (#BlogRechargeChat)

5. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

I had a hard time keeping up with blogging when the school year started. I believe this flux and flow will happen every year, especially in college and when I become a teacher.

6. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My review for All Fall Down by Ally Carter received 13 likes and got shared by the author through Twitter.

7. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Any of my Bottled Moonlight posts because I spent a lot of time on the short story. Initially, the story received a lot of love, but as the piece continued the likes died off.

8.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I started with a reading challenge but, overall, lost track as the year went on. I hope to create a new reading challenge (simpler one) with more focus.

 

looking-ahead-books-2015-900x244

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016, But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Any book on my Goodreads TBR list… which continually grows and grows no matter how hard I try not to add any more.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

Sarah Dessen’s Once and For All because I love/own all of her books and cannot wait for the newest one. Plus, I will FINALLY be the same, exact age as the main character.

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I have no idea! Any you think I should read?

4. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

I hope to read 50 books next year and/or finish my reading challenge I come up with.

5. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

Sadly, I haven’t been able to read any ARC books recently, but I hope to read Roseblood by A.G. Howard which I will no doubt love and push onto everyone else.

 

Much love, XOXO,

~A Writer Named Charley~

SocialMedia

4 thoughts on “2016 End of Year Book Survey (With a Writer Twist)

  1. So many books. So little time. I also have a problem with starting new series. I didn’t finish a single series this year. I suppose that’ll be a goal for us in 2017?

    I’m also trying to keep an eye out for overlooked treasures, so if Hello? is that good, maybe I’ll try and snag a copy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve not read many of these books (like, literally only Of Mice and Men, I think), but I’m keen for Me Before You! I also plan to read some Dostoevsky very soon — The Idiot.

    Sending support for the problems of never finishing series and constantly adding to your TBR, which I share!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Emily! I LOVED Of Mice and Men. Me Before You definitely needs an entire day for a one-sitting read. I’m not sure I would be able to read another Dostoevsky without the motivation of a grade behind it due to my love-hate relationship with Crime and Punishment. I’ll have to look into The Idiot, though. I’m waiting until next year to finish all those series I never finished before.

      Like

Leave a Reply

