Behind The Story: Bottled Moonlight

Behind The Story_Bottled Moonlight.jpgHello there!

Last week I finished posting my first ever multi-week story on the blog, Bottled Moonlight. The story is held near and dear to my heart, and I would like to share some of the thoughts and process that went behind the making of the story.

First, let me make it clear that I struggled writing this story. When I posted the writing prompt on Storytime Sunday #5, I’m sure I had an idea in my mind until the final part of the week arrived, and I realized I actually didn’t. If not for Storytime Sunday, then this story would not exist. (Pretty intense stuff right there.) Anyways, I had to write this story, or at least part of it, for Storytime Sunday which helped me finish the story.

What happened? I sat down one day at my desk and sat and sat and sat… completely dumbfounded. Funny thing, though? I thought to myself: Okay, Luna will be my main girl, the POV, and she’ll have blue hair. That’s all I had before I even had a story idea. My next step was to actually create a story line and other characters and basically everything. But I still sat there stumped. Normally, when I post a Storytime Sunday prompt, I have some sort of idea already. I didn’t this time.

Well, I took a tip from a pro-blogger and author: Cait from Paper Fury. Her Pinterest is full of WIP inspiration boards. I started one of my very own here. While I started this board I noticed a quote from Colleen Hoover (an author I STILL need to read) and suddenly, an idea popped into my mind!

bottle up emotions colleen hoover quote:

Just the idea that having emotions was unnatural really struck me. Then as I developed my idea map on paper (because that’s how I like to do things) I really fell in love with it all. I continued pinning to my inspiration board, and eventually started writing the story.

After the first few initial days, however, my writing speed started to slow down. I got distracted easily by creating aesthetics and graphics for the story instead of actually writing the story. (All of which are on the Pinterest board.) My Twitter thread is full of these graphics.

I talked the story over with a few of my friends and quickly began writing again. Then, of course, life got in the way. Storytime Sunday #6 had to be written. The story got set aside for a few days. In reality, though, I finished this story in about two weeks.

I wrote Theo’s POV first because I was unsure if I wanted Luna’s POV in the story at all. My friends convinced me otherwise, so I added Luna’s POV after writing all of Theo’s POVs. I knew I would need Luna’s POV at the end of the story, anyways.

The title idea for the story had a few possibilities but I for sure knew I wanted the word bottled in the title, for some odd reason. Of course, I resorted to Pinterest and my inspiration board for title ideas when a moon in a bottle popped up. Wallah! I had a title for my story. Really the title is talking about how Luna felt “bottled up” in The Mansion. Luna, obviously, is the moonlight, or moonchild as Theo calls her in the story.

Bottled Moonlight

I was a little nervous for sharing this story on the blog, especially since I’m not entirely confident with it yet. I do think, however, that it will do well.

Thank you for sticking with me through this process and giving me confidence in my writings all around.

What do you think of this style of post? Would you like a “Behind the Story” on any either of my pieces (prose or poetry)? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

 

Much love, XOXO,

~ A Writer Named Charley~

SocialMedia

Leave a Reply

