Review: Across the Universe

Across the Universe.jpgSynopsis:

A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder.

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone—one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship —tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.


Review:

I cannot believe I ever set this book aside twice in my lifetime. Across the Universe by Beth Revis is absolutely phenomenal across every galaxy and planet in the universe.

The characters definitely drew me in initially. Amy and Elder are the two POVs, but Harley and Orion pulled me in and stuck me in Godspeed for the rest of my life. Orion, I suspected things of (that I will discuss later), but I full on fell in love with Harley. If a draft of this book exists without Harley.. it needs to disappear. Across the Universe is brought fully around by the side characters, a job not many authors can do to my expectations. 🙂 Anyways, the two main characters are Amy and Elder. Their romance is choppy and kind of awkward, but I loved it! Elder wanted to prove himself to Amy all the time, but sometimes he could arguably be called obsessive about Amy. Until you read the end of the book… but that’s also for later discussion. Overall, Harley is my favorite character.

Across the Universe‘s plot is based on tons of secrets, lies, and plot twists. HOLY PLOT TWISTS! I saw a few of the secrets coming from early on in the book, but the majority of the plot twists surprised the heck out of me. I don’t want to let too much out right now (check the end for these spoilers), but the plot made me stick with the book. My problem from the two times I attempted to read the book before was I didn’t sit down and binge read the book. I totally suggest the binge-reading method. Or at least sit down and read a large portion of Across the Universe at one time. If you don’t think you have time to do so, you will want to make time after reading a few chapters.

Normally, I don’t enjoy reading science fiction, but Across the Universe is the exception. Hopefully, along with all the other books in the trilogy.

I recommend reading this book ASAP if you haven’t already. I am ashamed because I didn’t read this book and it came out in 2011. READ IT!

Spoilers Section:

(Highlight the invisible section below in order to read the spoilers.)

Across the Universe holds too many plot twists and spoilers to discuss in the simple review above.

First of all: HARLEY! I cannot believe he killed himself. But he did it in such a beautiful way… which I never thought I would say about suicide. My tears are never-ending for that scene. And the painting… oh my goodness! Nothing will ever be okay again in these books.

Second of all: I saw the Orion being the last Elder thing coming from the first few times we met him. And I figured he would be the one thawing the people, but for a few chapters I was convinced Eldest did it.

Third of all: ELDER AND ELDEST HAVE THE SAME FREAKING DNA?? What is this science fiction stuff? That plot twist threw me into the second Tuesday of next week. I could not believe it. But the way Elder responded was very leader-like.

Fourth of all: ELDER THAWED AMY?!?!? I did not see the plot twist coming. I mean… that one sentence chapter? One sentence chapters always get me teary-eyed. ALWAYS. And that one chapter… man oh man. This book… I’m telling you.

 

Have you read the book? Do you like reading science fiction books? What did you think of the plot twists? Does the book sound interesting to you? Any recommendations? Tell me in the comments!

 

Much love, XOXO,

~ A Writer Named Charley~

SocialMedia

6 thoughts on “Review: Across the Universe

  1. Pingback: Sept. 10, 2016: Personality Types// Deeper Thoughts Than I Planned | A Writer Named Charley

  2. Pingback: 2016 End of Year Book Survey (With a Writer Twist) | A Writer Named Charley

Leave a Reply

