Review: A Book of Spirits and Thieves

22571365Synopsis:

Modern-day sisters discover deadly ancient magic in book 1 of this Falling Kingdoms spin-off series!

Worlds collide in this suspenseful, page-turning Falling Kingdoms spin-off series, which explores a whole new side of Mytica—and an even darker version of its magic.

Crystal Hatcher, Modern-day Toronto: It’s a normal afternoon in her mother’s antique bookshop when Crys witnesses the unthinkable: her little sister Becca collapses into a coma after becoming mesmerized by a mysterious book written in an unrecognizable language.

Maddox Corso, Ancient Mytica: Maddox Corso doesn’t think much of it when he spots an unfamiliar girl in his small village. Until, that is, he realizes that she is a spirit, and he is the only one who can see or hear her. Her name is Becca Hatcher, and she needs Maddox to help get her home.

Farrell Grayson, Modern-day Toronto: Rich and aimless Farrell Grayson is thrilled when the mysterious leader of the ultra-secret Hawkspear Society invites him into the fold. But when he learns exactly what he has to do to prove himself, Farrell starts to question everything he thought he knew about family, loyalty, and himself….

Fate has brought these young people together, but ancient magic threatens to rip them apart.


Review:

Normally, I don’t like spin-off series from a beloved series. Example number one: The Vampire Academy series’ spinoff, Bloodlines. When my best (book recommender) friend shoved A Book of Spirits and Thieves into my hands about six months ago (This is why you don’t borrow books out to me, sorry.) I let the book sit on my bookshelf. Then Candid Cover hosted a TBR Wipeout for the summer, and I KNEW the time had come for me to finally read the book. Let me tell you, I was nervous. But nothing… nothing… could have prepared me for the amazing story told within this spinoff series I am ultimately addicted to. Not as much as Falling Kingdoms, but perhaps as the books come out I will fall more in love with them. (If possible.)

The major thing… and I am talking THE MAJOR thing I love about Morgan Rhodes’s writing is all of her wonderfully fluid point-of-views she tells her complex stories from. A Book of Spirits and Thieves doesn’t have nearly as many POVs as her Falling Kingdoms series, but the four POVs Morgan Rhodes tells the story from are essential to the story. My favorite POV… well, that’s not possible. There are three POVs. Let’s break it down:

  1. Maddox. He is the only character from Ancient Mytica. I had a little bit of difficulty getting into his character’s POV mainly because I spent the majority of the time trying to figure out what time he was in compared to the Falling Kingdoms series. I quickly gave up on that once Becca showed up in Mytica, though.
  2. Crystal Hatcher. She is from modern-day Toronto, Canada. While initially I couldn’t connect with her character, her sass and loyalty came through. Oh boy… and her reaction around guys. We are literally the same person. (Except she breaks rules and I kinda can’t do that.) I fell in love with her character, probably, in her second chapter. The sarcasm and quick remarks she says to Farrell and other characters makes it near impossible to dislike her POV.
  3. Farrell Grayson. That gorgeous man. I fell in love with his character. Then I realized he is supposed to be a bad guy. But by that point I became too invested in his POV and storyline to actually care. Farrell is my new book boyfriend (I get a new one each book I read.) and I am proud to say I disagree with just about every thought he has. Except for the ones about Crystal (Crys). His last chapter definitely made me cry. That’s all I’m saying.

Anyways, I had a few AHA! moments in the book that I loved. These AHA! moments, of course, hold spoilers so BEWARE!

When we learned that Maddox is the nephew Valoria had been searching for (except she thought it was a girl) I was sort of surprised but also, not really. I had guessed this to be true for about half the book before this moment. The total reveal, however, was anti-climatic for my preferences, but overall well done. I feel like Maddox’s reaction and realization moment was well-written, but Valoria should not have been able to guess the answer from Maddox’s reaction.

My second AHA! moment was when Maddox tossed the Bronze Codex into the portal. Did you happen to notice Valoria mention she tried to open the portal to the time closest to when the thief (Markus) stole her golden dagger (the one Markus uses)? And remember that one time the story was told about Markus coming through the portal into the bookshop and the book shortly followed him? Yeah… time is a wonky thing in this book. BUT I LOVE IT! Definitely allowing the readers to make this connection was a correct decision by Morgan Rhodes. Loved it!

end spoiler

I know this is a short review, especially if you skipped the spoiler part, but A Book of Spirits and Thieves is able to speak for itself with its brilliance and well-crafted magical world. Morgan Rhodes created another wonderful series set in the mythical land of Mytica that all readers will love.

 

What did you think of the book? Are you a big fan of spin-off series? Have you read Falling Kingdoms yet? Let me know in the comments!

 

Much love, XOXO,

~A Writer Named Charley~

SocialMedia

One thought on “Review: A Book of Spirits and Thieves

  1. Pingback: 2016 End of Year Book Survey (With a Writer Twist) | A Writer Named Charley

Leave a Reply

