Review: The Movie Version + Aesthetic

The Movie Version.jpg

Release Date:

October 11, 2016 from Abrams Books.

Synopsis:

A whip-smart, heart-wrenching debut YA novel about first love, first loss, and filmmaking that will delight fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven

In the movie version of Amelia’s life, the roles have always been clear. Her older brother, Toby: definitely the Star. As popular with the stoners as he is with the cheerleaders, Toby is someone you’d pay ten bucks to watch sweep Battle of the Bands and build a “beach party” in the bathroom. As for Amelia? She’s Toby Anderson’s Younger Sister. She’s perfectly happy to watch Toby’s hijinks from the sidelines, when she’s not engrossed in one of her elaborately themed Netflix movie marathons.

But recently Toby’s been acting in a very non-movie-version way. He’s stopped hanging out with his horde of friends and started obsessively journaling and disappearing for days at a time. Amelia doesn’t know what’s happened to her awesome older brother, or who this strange actor is that’s taken his place. And there’s someone else pulling at her attention: a smart, cute new boyfriend who wants to know the real Amelia—not Toby’s Sidekick. Amelia feels adrift without her star, but to best help Toby—and herself—it might be time to cast a new role: Amelia Anderson, leading lady.

Review:

{I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.}

The Movie Version by Emma Wunsch beautifully intertwines friendship, loyalty, siblings, mental illness, and love into one year and a book.

Let’s jump right into it: Amelia, our main character, goes through one heck of a year. I loved the idea of the book covering one year (just over a school year) instead of a few months or crazy amounts of time. Anyways, Amelia develops drastically throughout the entirety of the book. She starts as a girl I can relate to: quiet, shy, babysitter, and lives under the shadow of her older sibling, Toby. As the story develops and plot twists twirl around, Amelia slowly becomes a girl full of confidence, a driver, and a wonderful, growing group of friends. (By the way, I can relate to the second girl more this year.) What happens with Toby, taking away her shadow-caster (Yes, I seriously just said that. Don’t judge my lack of vocabulary skills.) makes the sun shine directly on her and dazzling those around her. Deep down, Amelia had these amazing skills and personality traits that appear after Toby’s sickness develops. In every situation, a silver lining will appear.

Speaking of Toby’s sickness, (spoilers begin and end in this paragraph) I am amazed. Not only is this book Emma Wunsch’s debut novel, but she takes on a task not many other authors tackle in their entire careers: mental health awareness. I could probably count on one hand the number of mental health books I know off the top of my head. (But that’s also regarding me as a reader. I’m not well-versed.) I have only read one other book about schizophrenia where the POV was the schizophrenic, (That was an interesting read, let me tell you.) so I found it interesting to see how schizophrenia affected the family and friends around the person with the mental illness.

Talking of those around characters… SUPPORTING CHARACTERS! I love books with amazing supporting characters, and The Movie Version for sure delivers my request. Ray and Muppet are the perfect duo for Amelia. Epstein is the perfect boyfriend. (I’m still upset about this, Emma Wunsch. *stare down*) Epstein’s friends, especially Holden, need to be in my life. Toby is the bestest older brother (new and old version). Amelia’s parents and siblings and family are awesome. And can we talk about the support group kids? I seriously need a spin-off novella full of their meetings/conversations. This book would be uber boring without the amazing supporting characters to fill in all the cracks and crevices.

Supporting characters are one thing, but boyfriends are another. Epstein Boffee-Barnes is my newest book boyfriend, everyone. I cannot believe how great of a character he became. I loved him from his first words (well at least some of his first words): “My name is Epstein Boffee-Barnes. Boffee has two Fs and two Es. Barnes has an E, too. I’m seventeen and not a killer. I don’t like horror movies. I’ve been a vegetarian since I was nine. You look really wet and really tired and I saw you walking like three hours ago. Um… I have a car.” And his big ears… I loved them! Towards the end of the book I could understand Amelia’s annoyance, BUT I needed him badly. NEED HIM! I have to move on.

Overall, I give this book amazing ratings. The plotline, characters, development, issues, everything is perfectly laid out and spaced out. Emma Wunsch, I applaud you for an amazing debut. (And the offer for future ARC reviews is still open on my end. Just saying.)

Aesthetic:

December.jpg

 

I became inspired by a specific section (My notes are already gone for WHICH specific section of the book. Great going, Charley.) of the book where Amelia is talking about what December and winter is normally like for her. She talked about cough drops and coffee, pink skies right before it snows, and her dad’s pickup and his red puffy jacket. WELL, I loved the idea of it. Also, I’m a little addicted to aesthetics right now… so… here you go!

 

What do you think of the aesthetic? Are you excited for the book to release on October 11? Do you have any book recommendations for young adult books about mental health?

Much love, XOXO,

~A Writer Named Charley~

SocialMedia

One thought on “Review: The Movie Version + Aesthetic

  1. Pingback: August Wrap-Up | A Writer Named Charley

Leave a Reply

