Review: Legacy of Kings

LOK

23569428

Synopsis:

Imagine a time when the gods turn a blind eye to the agony of men, when the last of the hellions roam the plains and evil stirs beyond the edges of the map. A time when cities burn, and in their ashes, empires rise.

Alexander, Macedonia’s sixteen-year-old heir, is on the brink of discovering his fated role in conquering the known world but finds himself drawn to a newcomer…

Katerina must navigate the dark secrets of court life while hiding her own mission: kill the Queen. But she doesn’t account for her first love…

Jacob will go to unthinkable lengths to win Katerina, even if it means having to compete for her heart with Hephaestion, a murderer sheltered by the prince.

And far across the sea, Zofia, a Persian princess and Alexander’s unmet betrothed, wants to alter her destiny by seeking the famed and deadly Spirit Eaters.

Weaving fantasy with the shocking details of real history, New York Times bestselling author of Sex with Kings Eleanor Herman reimagines the greatest emperor the world has ever known, Alexander the Great, in the first book of the Blood of Gods and Royals series.


Review:

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman created a world in history that easily could have existed with all the mythology and superstitions intertwined with actual historical figures. I fell in love with this book once I actually sat down and read the book. BUT… I did have some mini issues that piled up into one big one.

First of all, TOO MANY POVS!

I thought, based off the synopsis (see above) that the book would only have five point of views. Five can sometimes be too much, but I can handle it. No… SEVEN POVs. Who can follow that? I feel like some of the point of views were pointless. All of these characters were living in one place (with the exception of Zofia) and majority of the time they were doing the same things! First, I couldn’t keep up with them all. Second, I had no idea what exactly was happening most of the time because I was too busy trying to keep them all in order. The POVs all sounded the same with no distinct speaking style or different chapter formats or anything. As the story continued many of the POVs just didn’t happen, too. Characters overpowered each other and left character arcs in the dust.

Despite the multiple point of views, I did find the plot intriguing. I mean, it IS Alexander the Great with mythology and magic mixed in. How could you not love it? Legacy of Kings is my first historical fiction fantasy read, and I hope it isn’t my last. I loved the idea of the magic bloodlines and wish more of the book focused on this aspect. Hopefully the next book will play more into the magic.  

With an intriguing plotline, Legacy of Kings wasn’t too hard for me to get into. The book did have a slow start, though. I’m used to slow starts (Look at Hunger Games.) but Legacy of Kings, overall, felt unbalanced. The beginning chapter, from Kat’s POV, hooked me. After it, however, everything slowed down until the final 70-50 pages when the battle began. If the plotline had evened out, then I would have been over the moon happy.

Since the plot was unbalanced, a major secret (I think it was supposed to be a plot twist.) just had to be said at the end. THIS. Oh my goodness, this. I just can’t. I had seen the secret coming when Kat met Alexander and they felt “comfortable” in each other’s presence. I may not have known how it exactly all worked out, but I saw it coming. But… it didn’t get revealed until the second to the last page where Kat just straight out tells Alexander. STRAIGHT OUT! No, no, no… see, I like reading about the character’s epiphanies, then having the character awkwardly tell the other character involved about it. Where does Kat tell Alexander? Straight out, confidently, on a battlefield after a MAJOR battle. And they all just accept it. SERIOUSLY? This part just got to me. Okay, I have to move on before I blow up.

Finally, one other little thing: the romances. I can understand an occasional love triangle or star-crossed lovers. What I cannot agree with, however, is romance hints and thoughts with every guy/girl relationship in the book. Every guy thought about kissing/having sex with Kat. Technically, Alexander didn’t think about the physical, but there is a line that got to me. He talked about being in love with Kat, but not being sure WHAT KIND of love it was yet. SERIOUSLY? All she did was give you some coins, bro. Really? The only relationship I actually liked in the book was from a flashback with Riel and Olympias. ONLY ONE.

I know what all these paragraphs look like: negatives. Overall, I did enjoy the book. REALLY! But like I said before, all these minor problems piled up. I will read the sequel, Empire of Dust, with hope that all these problems get sorted out.

What did you think of Legacy of Kings? Do you have any other historical fiction fantasy book recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments!

 

Much love, XOXO,

~A Writer Named Charley~

SocialMedia

 

One thought on “Review: Legacy of Kings

  1. Pingback: August Wrap-Up | A Writer Named Charley

Leave a Reply

