July 13, 2016: Goodreads TBR Takedown Part One

Hello there!

How have you been? It seems like forever since I’ve written a journal post to you all! I have to make this quick, so let’s jump to the point, shall we?

Today, on my day off, I looked at my Goodreads to-read shelf. The number (to be revealed soon) scared me and also astounded me. How could I allow my tbr pile to grow to such a number?!?! Well, I took matters into my own hands today and starting scrapping a lot of them. And by a lot… well… let me just give you the numbers.

My to-read shelf began at 1,074 books today. I began by scrolling all the way to the bottom of my shelf and personally looking up each individual book for its synopsis. If you have a brain, then you can realize how long this process took me when I had 1,074 books to scroll through. I don’t know how many books I made it through with that process, but let me tell you, it wasn’t many.

Then, after I finished my movie (It was the live-action Cinderella movie, and I loved it!) I decided to change directions by using Iridescence’s process for when she deleted items off her to-read shelf on Goodreads. I changed to pages, showing 20 items at a time, and deleted that way. This process gave me a sense of relief and accomplishment with a handle on managing the chaos. I would go until all 20 items on the page were books I knew and actually wanted to read, then I would switch to the next page. Also, I dropped the idea of looking up individual books and went by my memory of what I remembered I wanted to read. Many books lived on the shelf, as well, that I had once tried to read but didn’t finish/like. I deleted those, too.

Overall, with the second process, I deleted hundreds of books off my list. What is the final total for today, you ask?

DRUM ROLL PLEASE!

I made my to-read list down to 711 books! YAY! I still have many books to go through on the list, but I hope to make it down to at most 500 books on the to-read list.

Have you done a cleaning of your to-read list? Are you considering doing one? (We can form a support group if needed.)

 

Much love, XOXO,

~A Writer Named Charley~

8 thoughts on “July 13, 2016: Goodreads TBR Takedown Part One

  1. Holy moly that’s impressive! I haven’t let my TBR get that crazy, but a clean would still be great. On the other hand, I want to add a lot that I know I want to read but haven’t officially put on the list…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: July 16, 2016: Goodreads TBR Takedown Part Two | A Writer Named Charley

  3. Pingback: July Wrap-Up | A Writer Named Charley

Leave a Reply

