July 2, 2016: Recharged Blog

Hello there!

In case you didn’t notice, the blog changed over the past few days. And here’s the story:

A few days ago Iridescence and I hosted a Twitter chat about blogging called #BlogRechargeChat.
BlogRecharge

Throughout the chat we asked questions about what readers liked on blogs and the tips/suggestions poured in! I finally sat down on Thursday (the day after) and wrote down answers and tips from the conversations in my blog notebook. (That’s for a different story.)

That was the easy part. I looked at some of the mentioned blogs and went through a few pins on my Blogging 101 board on Pinterest to get an idea on how to apply the suggestions to my blog. After a few videos and articles, I understood what I had to do. I had to rebrand, revamp, and recharge my blog.

Backstory time: When I started this blog, you see, I didn’t expect it to last more than a week, then a month, let alone six months. About a month or so into blogging, I decided to make a proper header and background and all the things a blog needs for essentials. Another few months passed and I decided to make better graphics and read some articles about blogging. Then June came. June I decided to really get serious about it. (Or at least as much as I could when I’m still in high school and have a summer job.) I posted Twitter polls, actually read blogging articles, joined blog groups, and got serious about hosting a Twitter chat with Iridescence. Then the chat happened and well, the rest… I’m about to tell you about.

After the Twitter chat and the notes I knew deep down that I had no idea what I wanted my blog to make others feel. Sure, I have writing and book stuff, but how does my blog make my readers feel? In reality, this question is pretty simple. In my mind, however, it took a few hours. I made a blog brand board on Pinterest, then I made a blog Pinterest account  and another blog brand board. Finally, I knew what I wanted the blog to make others feel like: SUNDAY  MORNING. You see, Sunday morning for me is relaxing time. I sit down and have my cup of orange juice (Orange juice is my coffee.) and relax. Sunday morning is the time for myself to be alone and with my thoughts. I wanted my blog to be read during that time. Of course, I post throughout the week and not every Sunday morning is relaxing. But just consider taking a few minutes in a morning this week and read some of my blog posts.

What did I change exactly? I changed a lot. Here’s a quick list:

  • Border color
  • Header photo
  • Tagline
  • Sidebar (added/deleted/shrunk things)
  • Added a blog button
  • Added social media buttons
  • Added a Pinterest
  • Shrunk the Main Menu
  • Added Storytime Sundays to the Menu (with an explanation)
  • Added submenus
  • Changed the fonts
  • Review/Writing Index
  • Changed wording for sidebar widgets

While the list may not look long all typed out, the act of actually completing the list took a day and some random hours thrown in.

I hope you really enjoy the changes and decide to sit down with a cup of coffee one day and read some posts. (P.S. Feel free to steal my blog button and post it on your blog! *whispers* blog button swap meets?*)

What do you think of the new colors? Do you think the blog is easier to navigate now? What do you want to see on my Pinterest? Anything else you would like to see on my blog that I don’t have?

 

Much love, XOXO,

~A Writer Named Charley~

6 thoughts on “July 2, 2016: Recharged Blog

  1. Pingback: July Wrap-Up | A Writer Named Charley

  2. Pingback: 2016’s Year In Review | A Writer Named Charley

Leave a Reply

