Review: Me Before You

mebeforeyouheader

Synopsis (GR):

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.



There is something to be said about reading a book in one sitting from around 5 pm until 12:30 am with one break for food and a few breaks for dogs.

I will tell you one thing: No matter how adamant you may be about reading this book, for whatever reason, just pick up the book and read the first chapter. Then read the entire book because you cannot put it down.

Initially, I saw the movie trailer in theatres and thought, ” I need to read this book before the movie comes out.” Then, two of my closest book friends read the book, and they told me “YOU NEED TO READ THE BOOK BEFORE THE MOVIE COMES OUT!” Then June 2 came, and I still hadn’t read the book. My friend, Abby, shoved the book into my hands, and I promised to return it the following day before we watched the movie. I held true to my promise, finished the book (at 12:30 am), and bawled my eyes out in the movie theatres from emotions, lack of sleep, and Ed Sheeran songs.

Β Me Before You by Jojo Moyes tells the story of Will Traynor and Louisa Clark, two polar opposites attracted by the unsuspecting circumstances of each other’s lives.

Me Before You is not driven by its characters or by its plot, but rather, I would say, by the readers’ love for its entirety. You might be asking yourself now, “Has she officially gone off her rocker?” I believe my answer would be, yes, but no. I binge read this beautiful, red-covered book. I fell in love with the first chapter of the book. I read the book in one sitting. The plot may not have been fast-paced like others have been, and the characters may have been flawed, but my love for the book is unwavering past the first page. This love brought me through the book.

Jojo Moyes did something unique for a contemporary novel, at least the ones I have read. About four to five chapters in the book were from a different perspective than the main character, Louisa. It didn’t change every other chapter or with a pattern. Rather, the chapters came as a surprise, but a necessary surprise. I felt like I knew each character better due to these chapters.

The book, as a whole, is simply phenomenal. I cannot express how the book touched me, but the obstacles and “problems” (for lack of a better term, right now) the book talks about: depression, quadriplegics, death with dignity, etc. Each character brought their own opinions and perspectives on life, all of which brought value, and they will forever be in my heart.

This isn’t much of a review. That I am aware of. I only hope, however, that whoever reads this sees the love a person can have for this book and does not judge the ending of the book as being selfish or horrid. Rather, the ending of the book shows true love and how life is not always happily ever after. People always ask for these types of books, but I always see the hate for them after they are read. Me Before You shows every aspect of life as it should be, beautifully and loved.

The Movie:

Just as my love for the book simply sold it for me, my love for the movie will override anything else I have to say. Of course there were inconsistencies or inaccuracies between the book and the movie, as there will be in any adaptation between mediums. With the book, the readers grow close to the characters, while in a movie, the audience grows close to the storyline. If you have read and watched the movie, then you are my type of person. (Let’s talk later.)

The movie did not have Will’s sister, Georgina, however, and I was a little sad about that. They also took the entire subplot of Louisa’s “fear of the corn maze” (Forgive me for undermining the situation, but simply do not want to give any spoilers away.) where I felt Will truly began to see Louisa beyond the bubbly, witty young woman he had come to know. The movie, however, focused on the beautiful relationship between Will Traynor and Louisa Clark. A relationship well worth an entire movie and infinity beyond it.

 

What did you think of the movie/book? Have any idea which book will get me over this book hangover? (I do not believe it is possible, but I will try my best.)

Much love, XOXO,

~A Writer Named Charley~

#awriternamedcharley

Twitter/IG: writercharley

6 thoughts on “Review: Me Before You

  1. Pingback: June Wrap-Up | A Writer Named Charley

  2. Pingback: Movie Fangirl Blog Award | A Writer Named Charley

Leave a Reply

