Review: The Crown

thecrownquote

Synopsis (GR):

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

Book Trailer:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Let me tell you a little diddy: Once upon a time there was a girl, a booklover, who did not particularly love Eadlyn Schreave, daughter of the beloved Maxon Schreave. Then one day, she read the final book of a loved series, The Selection, and the book girl fell in love with Eadlyn Schreave. That girl, also, started the second part of the series as a Team Kile lover. She ended, however, as… Team Eikko.

(Diddy) Spoiler alert: That girl is me.

The Heir left many readers nervous about the following book, The Crown, along with how the much beloved series would end. Being one of the critical people who looked down on Eadlyn Schreave when she was first introduced, I am proud of the character development she made in The Crown.

Eadlyn’s character went through crap in The Heir, but I could not imagine a different way for Eadlyn to change in The Crown than how Kiera Cass wrote it. From the first paragraph’s words, “But after the last few weeks, after learning how kind, how smart, how generous so many of them were, I found the mass elimination almost heartbreaking,” is how I knew I forgave Kiera Cass for The Heir. Eadlyn changed in The Crown for the better. While the change may have occurred under heartbreaking circumstance of America’s heart attack, the change was well needed and received by the readers.

A fear I had before reading The Crown was I did not know much about the boys in the Selection. In The Crown, however, right away the Elite are chosen. This elimination allowed the majority of the book, I would say, to be about discovering who each man was on a personal level. The men who were left were ones who already had much of the time in The Heir, but they were all ones I loved. Personally, I had a general idea (I had two boys picked out) for which one Eadlyn would eventually end up with.

Kile Woodwork is Eadlyn’s “friend” (I say it loosely, and if you have read The Heir then you know why.) and I have a soft-spot in my heart for childhood friends to lovers relationship stories. (No idea where that even originated, but hey, I love them.) Truly, I felt Kile and Eadlyn would be endgame from the beginning of The Heir. Kile changed as a character, as well, in The Crown. He became more emotionally open for Eadlyn, and Eadlyn opened to Kile, as well. The two of them felt comfortable around the other, and that only happened with one other person for Eadlyn, romantically-wise.

The other person, you ask. Well, let… me… tell… you. Before I read The Crown, I did not like Erik, aka Eikko, as a choice. My opinion, however, changed. (It rarely does so, as I am a VERY stubborn book-opinionated-lover.) I have no idea where in the book my opinion changed about Erik, but it did. I have no idea what brought on this change in opinion, but it did. I have no idea why it even changed, but it did. Get the idea? My opinion changed. Well, what did it change to? I switched to Team Eikko. Not Team Erik. When I changed opinions, I could not stand calling Eikko Erik. It just wasn’t his name. Eikko in The Crown became a well-admired person by all the characters. He cared for Henri like a brother. I could not imagine why I did not like him all along. (Probably because I am a rule stickler.) There is not one thing I can pin down about Eikko that I like, besides he made Eadlyn confident and comfortable and he is everything she needs.

So which of the two did she end up with, you ask? Well…. <spoiler> She ends up with Eikko. It made sense. It just made sense. I could not imagine her with someone else. Kile was not what Eadlyn needed. They would always be stuck in that awkward in-between friends and romantics stage. </end spoiler>.

I loved the story, as a whole. While the ending seemed rushed, I could not imagine Eadlyn’s life being less chaotic. If Kiera Cass had written another book from Eadlyn’s point of view, then it would have been too long. The Crown brought me more joy than I thought it ever would, and I am glad I was proven wrong. Thank you, Kiera Cass, for a wonderful series and cast of characters for me to fall in love with over and over again. To many more books! (P.S. I really badly still need to read The Siren. Whoopsies!)

What did you think about The Crown’s surprising ending? If you haven’t read the book, then get a move on people! 🙂

Much love, XOXO,

~A Writer Named Charley~

Sidenote: Check out my bookstagram for pictures of The Crown!

 

4 thoughts on “Review: The Crown

  1. I wasn’t going to read The Crown after The Heir but the goooorgeous cover spoke to me. I’m really glad I did though.
    Even I hated Eadlyn and liked her in this one, was a Kile supporter and was wary of Eikko but.. the ending..
    I loved how it ended and I’m sad about the finish line but it’s a happy tears goodbye

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: June Wrap-Up | A Writer Named Charley

  3. Pingback: 2016 End of Year Book Survey (With a Writer Twist) | A Writer Named Charley

Leave a Reply

