June 15, 2016: My Writing Struggles

Hey there.

I come to you solemnly under great struggles from a writer. For weeks I have been struggling with writing more chapters for The Changing Tree. Let me tell you a little history lesson: I began writing this book during 6th grade. I set it down and picked the story back up numerous times while growing up and maturing as a writer. Recently, however, when I sat down again, I just couldn’t get the wording right. I was unsure of where I wanted to go after Chapter Four (Which I posted on here) and I had an audience here waiting for it. I finally decided after a long conversation with my writer friend to set it aside for a bit and focus on simply meeting a goal each week of 4000-5000 words by Monday/Sunday. And then on Sunday I will start a writing prompt.

Here’s my idea to keep me accountable for writing and actually finishing these goals:

Would you be willing to join a group (of writers) to share every Sunday their pieces from the writing prompt? My friend (and I) would choose the writing prompt and share it on here probably Saturday or even Friday at the end of my Friday posts. Then on Sunday we would all write together (I can send out a reminder email or join up a Twitter/Facebook group… whichever would work best for everyone.) from the same prompt. I always love seeing all the different directions people can take from the same simple prompt. You wouldn’t have to participate every week if schedules get in the way. You don’t even have to share! (Although I would love it if you did!) I will try to start it this upcoming Sunday, but I am super busy on Saturday with senior pictures (Ugh) so we shall see. Let me know in the comments below if you are interested, otherwise DM me on Twitter and we can discuss more!

 

 

Much love, XOXO,

~A Writer Named Charley~

#awriternamedcharley

2 thoughts on “June 15, 2016: My Writing Struggles

  1. Pingback: (Pre) Storytime Sunday | A Writer Named Charley

  2. Pingback: June Wrap-Up | A Writer Named Charley

Leave a Reply

