Poem: Highways and Back Streets

Highways and BackstreetsSo much in my head

swirling, tumbling

go through so much

feel so much

too much

crushes, sorrows

Opportunities long gone

I should have followed

all my highways

all my back streets

all my dark thoughts

No one really knows me.

They always go away

Like I am the enemy

they act like I’m a murderer

when in reality I’m floundering.

floundering for a foothold

for my mom

to feel her calming fingers in my hair.

Yes, I’m 16,

but I feel alone and as if I’m 5, or 3.

 

Leave a Reply

