Review: I Am Her Revenge Killed Me

** spoiler alert **

Sidenote: I Am Her Revenge by Meredith Moore was on the recommended list for me because I read The Secrets We Keep. I didn’t particularly like that book, but I did have this book on my TBR pile from the library.

I wasn’t completely sure about if I would like this book or not, especially since it was semi-similar to The Secrets We Keep, but I picked it up and read the first sentence and was immediately hooked.

I was wary about how this book would turn out due to the semi-weirdness of the relationships and character’s thought processes. However, these cautions quickly disappeared as Ben’s character became more relevant along with all the other characters. There are so many emotions going through my head that I don’t think I will properly get written down on this review correctly, so please excuse the jumping around.

When I began this book I was surprised by how “normal” it seemed compared to the synopsis.

Manipulative and cruel, Mother deprived Vivan not only of a childhood, but of an original identity. With an endless arsenal of enticing personalities at her disposal, Vivian is a veritable weapon of deception.

This snippet is what intrigued me because how could someone do that to their very own child? Take away their childhood? Well, let me say something: Meredith Moore brilliantly writes how one can do that. In this book there are moments where the main character, Vivian, talks about all that Mother has done not only to herself, but also to her best childhood friend, Arthur/Boy. I was almost more interested in the memories than the actual storyline, but the way that the two are so intertwined kept me on the very edge of my seat, and I loved it. Mother did so many horrific things like cutting kittens’ throats and whipping and branding, I would have been worse off than Vivian. She came out of it strong though instead of broken. Kind of like that tree that was such a vocal point for the drawings that Vivian did. *hint hint* Vivian’s character goes through so many eye-opening experiences and revelations in this book but none of it seems rushed. She battles with ideas of what Mother and Helper are actually capable of and currently doing, and then when she needs confirmation of these things she runs to Arthur. Granted I feel like she ran to Arthur’s cabin quickly, asked a question, got mad, and ran out just as quickly, which I feel like was repetitive and basically the only part that I didn’t like about this book.

Wait… there was one problem about Ben. He seemed like he was just coincidentally doing everything that Mother had wanted Vivian to do. He offered to run away with her, just after Mother told Vivian she had to convince him to do that. And then asking Vivian to marry him, which Mother also wanted Vivian to convince Ben to do. Coincidence? I think not! That would have been really interesting if Ben had been working for Mother, but that just didn’t happen.

When Vivian finally figures everything out at the Loworth Cabin (which so many things occur it’s freaking crazy head messing) and then finds out Ben got kidnapped by Mother, all hell breaks loose. I just can’t even about this part. It’s just time for everyone to pick up this book and read it, because I’m not explaining all that stuff that goes down. It’s like a wild west scene!

I may be feeding too much into this, but I found it interesting that after Vivian finds out that Rose is Vivian’s mother, they refer to her as a mother with a lowercase “m”. This could be interpreted as a softer mother versus the harsh uppercase “M” of Mother. The two people are complete antithesis of each other, and I found this little thing interesting.

I Am Her Revenge definitely plays with your head and mind and heart through everything you learn and the little things evolve into huge things at the end of the book. Everything that is mentioned in the book and every character has a role to play to bring and move the plot forward towards the climax and revolution. I was surprised that this was a debut novel, so I applaud you Meredith Moore. I applaud you. 

Leave a Reply

